HOME | ABOUT US | CONTACT | REGIONAL MANAGERS
 
  Customer Service  
 
  Customer Support  
     •   Request information or offer a comment  
     •   Submit a survey need  
     •   Report a charting discrepancy  
     •   Contact a Navigation Managers  
     •   Learn about emergency responses  
     •   Find a chart seller  
 
  Resources  
     •   Coast Survey document library  
     •   NOAA photo library  
     •   Hydrographic Services Review Panel  
       
  Media  
     •   Speeches & Presentations  
       
       
 

Regional Navigation Managers

NOAA’s navigation managers, stationed strategically in port areas along U.S. coasts and Great Lakes, work directly with pilots, mariners, port authorities, and recreational boaters. They help identify navigational challenges facing the marine transportation system, and provide the resources and services that promote safe and efficient navigation.

Contact your region’s Navigation Manager if you:

  • need expert navigation preparation and response information for severe weather or hurricane preparedness and post-storm response
  • know of a danger to navigation that should be charted
  • need experienced assistance in navigational project coordination
  • want NOAA at your Harbor Safety Committee meeting, or other maritime-related conference or workshop
  • require more information about NOAA’s latest navigation technologies
  • are looking for objective information on hardware and software products for safe navigation and homeland security
  • have an idea for a new navigation product that would improve safety, efficiency, or value for the marine economy
  • need advice to resolve navigational problems
  • have a concern about a NOAA nautical chart or data
    Navigation Managers
LOCATION Navigation Manager 
NAME/Email/Location
(Base of Operations)
 Phone/Fax

Northeast
(New England, New Jersey, New York)

Lt. Cmdr Brent Pounds
brent.pounds@noaa.gov
(Narragansett, RI)

Phone: 401-782-3252
Cell: 401-545-0174
Fax: 401-782-3292

Chesapeake, Delaware Bay Steve Soherr (Temporary)
steve.soherr@noaa.gov
(Silver Spring, MD)

Phone: 301-713-2730 x174
Fax: 301-713-9312

Mid-Atlantic
(Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina)
Lt. Cmdr. Denise Gruccio
denise.gruccio@noaa.gov
(Norfolk, VA)

Phone: 757-441-6746 x116
Cell: 571-305-0995 Fax: 757-441-6601

Southeast
(North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, East Coast of Florida)

Kyle Ward
kyle.ward@noaa.gov
(Charleston, SC)

Phone: 843-740-1153
Cell: 301-651-4852
Fax: 843-740-1329
South Florida, Puerto Rico,
U.S. Virgin Islands
Michael Henderson
michael.henderson@noaa.gov
(Tampa, FL)
Phone:813-828-3310 x3008
Cell: 727-772-3708
Fax: 813-828-8923
Central Gulf Coast
(Mississippi, Alabama, Louisiana, Florida Panhandle)

Tim Osborn
tim.osborn@noaa.gov
(Lafayette, LA)

Patrick Fink (Contractor)
patrick.fink@noaa.gov
(Mobile, AL)

Phone: 337-291-2111
Cell: 337-254-5933
Fax: 337-291-3097

Phone: 251-544-5011
Cell:  337-501-3097

Western Gulf Coast
(Texas)
Alan Bunn
alan.bunn@noaa.gov
(Galveston, TX)
Phone: 409-621-5151 x118
Cell: 979-676-2866
Fax: 409-621-1316

Great Lakes Region
(Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, shorelines of Pennsylvania and New York)

Thomas Loeper (Temporary)
Thomas.Loeper@noaa.gov
(Silver Spring, MD)
Phone: 301-367-5680
Fax: 301-713-9312
California Gerald Wheaton
gerry.wheaton@noaa.gov
(Seaside, CA)
Phone: 831-583-2365
Cell: 831-801-8457
Fax: 831-583-2366

Northwest
(Washington, Oregon)

Crescent Moegling
crescent.moegling@noaa.gov
(Seattle, WA)

Phone: 206-526-6840
Cell: 206-707-5409
Fax: 206-526-4514
Pacific Islands
(Hawaii, Guam, American Samoa)

Lt. Kyle Ryan
kyle.ryan@noaa.gov
(Honolulu, HI)

Office: 808-725-5268
Fax: 808-532-2002
Cell: 808-271-8880

Alaska Lt. Timothy M. Smith
timothy.m.smith@noaa.gov
(Anchorage, AK)
Phone:  907-271-3327
Cell: 206-491-8913
User Survey  | Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer  |  NOAA's National Ocean Service  |  NOAA  |  U.S. Department of Commerce 
Web site owner: NOAA Office of Coast Survey